Happy 6th Birthday, Malou Amelia!

My darling daughter,

Today is your birthday.

Six years has lessened the pain but not the intensity of my love for you.

You have taught me about love compassion strength and what how to keep focused on what really matters.

You continue teaching me even though time marches on.

I am so grateful to be your mother.

Your big/little brother Liam has been asking about you a lot recently.

We watched some balloons float up into the sky and he exclaimed, “They’re on their way to Malou!”

I couldn’t help but agree.

He hears church bells and thinks of you.

He knows it’s your birthday this week and will fight with Nohi to decide who gets to blow them out.

He asks to see you and look at your pictures and tries to understand something I cannot explain:

Why are you not here with us?

All I can do is reassure him what I believe that someday we will see you in heaven.

As always on your birthday we blow out a candle for you to celebrate your life and the love you bring to the world.

All my love, always… Your mama

Published in: on May 28, 2014 at 10:00  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wednesdayswithmalou.wordpress.com/2014/05/28/happy-6th-birthday-malou-amelia/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi Stephanie, As you know my time is ahead of you so yesterday was Malou’s birthday, also her little brother Nohi’s. You may have seen I wrote again on the previous post on 26th. These days are very special to me, as I know they are to you. I will never forget. I love you all and I hope you know I think of you often. I still get lots of visits from Malou and I always talk to her when she lands on the chair beside me in the sun. Big hugs to you all.

  2. Much love to all of you, and thank you for putting these words out for others to read. I love that your kids know and love each other, even from one world to another. xoxo


Leave a Reply

