Happy 3rd Birthday, Malou Amelia

Where does the time go?
My little girl should be 3 years old today.

I see Liam playing with
other little girls
the same age,
and he LOVES it.

It both breaks and melts my heart.

I told my mom the other day
that he is just meant to be
a little brother.

He is happiest when he has a little person
to follow around
(but not so interested in younger kids
following him around :)).

Every night
Liam kisses the picture of his sister
Malou…
he used to just stare at it
and hold the picture frame,
then he started blowing kisses to her,
and now he gives a full-on
puckered-lips smooch.

It is adorable.
And it makes me realize
that it will be normal for
Liam
to grow up loving someone
he has never met.

I have to believe
that that will make him
a more loving, compassionate,
sensitive soul.

I hope he gets only the good
from his sister’s death…
extra love and snuggles,
security in knowing that death
isn’t the end of everything
(at least not love),
and avoids the painful grip of sorrow.

Because he won’t know any different.

We’ve had two other (early) losses
since we’ve had
Malou…
so I like to think that
she has some little siblings
playing with her.

It is Liam who is all alone with us.

I’m glad she has company,
but oh my goodness,
how I want them all here.

 Life is so very different from how I planned it,

But it is also so very good right now.

I don’t know how,
but somehow I ended up here…
in a place where my grief and longing
don’t overshadow my love and appreciation
for my life…
at least not daily.

I remember so clearly
the suffocating feeling of knowing that
the rest of my life,
the rest of my whole entire life,
would be filled with emptiness, sadness
and the sharp pain of loss
at every thought or reminder of
Malou.

I didn’t believe it would ever,
could ever,
get better.

Because how could it?
The only cure was impossible.

But somehow, slowly,
partly by choice and partly by luck,
I crept back into truly living life again.

And I haven’t done this by
forgetting
Malou.

To the contrary,
I think about her and look at her picture
and talk to her
every single day.

Some days I shed tears,
most I do not.

But there is not one day
that goes by
that I don’t think about her and love her.

I am always conscious that I am a mother,
two times over.

My dear girl, I love you so much. Three years ago today, I first saw your beautiful face, touched your soft skin and wavy dark hair, and tried to memorize the shape of your fingers, ears, mouth and nose. I held you in my arms and died myself, letting a large part of me go with you into heaven. I didn’t want you to go alone, and I didn’t kow how to live without you, so a part of me just died. But my battered and torn heart kept beating, and now I have a new life and I am a new person. I am a better person for being your mama, but I know you would have given me that gift if you were born alive and still here with us today too. You were, you are, magic. You have spread so much love into this world – you have made the world a better place, and I don’t know why you had to leave it so soon, but I know your life mattered and that you have made a difference. I wish you were here, as we celebrate your birthday jointly with your daddy’s, to blow out your own candles. For now, your daddy will do it with you, and later your little brother will. And one day, hopefully a long, long  earthly time from now, we will all be together as a family and I hope the pain of  years apart will disappear and all we will know is love and happiness together.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wednesdayswithmalou.wordpress.com/2011/05/28/happy-3rd-birthday-malou-amelia/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Missing Malou with you every day. Happy birthday, baby girl.
    xo

  2. Happy 3rd Birthday Malou Amelia. Fancy 3 years of being an angel. I know you are wathcing over your Mom, Dad and little brother, Liam, and enjoying his first experiences too. I will always love you and miss you. I know you visit me and I always talk out loud to you when you do.
    Love,
    Carolyn

  3. What a beautiful post, Stephanie. Reading about how Liam gives kisses to his sister brought tears to my eyes. It’s inspiring how you helped bridge their relationship beyond her loss and made it a loving and positive part of his life. Malou’s gorgeous face is forever imprinted in my mind, and I am carrying her in my heart too and celebrating her too short life with you today. Happy birthday, sweet Malou, beautiful little girl who is so lucky to have such an incredibly loving, caring mama and family.

  4. How can it be 3 years already? Happy birthday, Malou. I think of you and your family often.
    Love,
    Ann (mrs. k.)

  5. Happy 3rd birthday to your beautiful daughter, your dear little Malou Amelia. x

  6. Happy birthday, sweet Malou. I’ve always loved your name. Your mommy and daddy love you so much!

  7. Happy Birthday, precious Malou. I will be thinking of you today.

  8. This is such a beautiful post. I am so amazed by Malou and her beautiful family.


Leave a Reply

