Another Mother’s Day

Last year’s
Mother’s Day

was a bit brutal for me.

This year’s
Mother’s Day
is of course
different
in that I have a living child.

But I’m still glad
that this is not
a “big day”
in Denmark.

Malou
made me a mother.

So I think about her
today
more than I think
about myself as a mother
or my own mom.

(Sorry, mom, love you!
And hope you’re having a great time at the beach!)

And I also am thinking
about those
mothers missing their children
and those mothers-in-waiting,
who are struggling to conceive
right now.

Mother’s Day.

Sigh.

It’s good in theory,
but in practice
it’s a bit of a landmine.

Thank you for making me a mother, Malou. I wish you were here with Liam to wake me up with a wet kiss and an “I love you.” I love you, too, my sweet girl.

Published in: on May 9, 2010 at 08:00  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wednesdayswithmalou.wordpress.com/2010/05/09/another-mothers-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

