Seasons

Malou
was meant to be a summer baby,
to be born in July.

Instead she was born in spring,
a May baby born on the cusp
of summer.

I remember last fall,
the change of season was so hard to handle…
watching the world move on, literally,
while I was still aching to go back in time.

Then winter came,
and I started to get more used to it.

Maybe it helped that we traveled
for the worst bit of winter.

Spring and summer flew by this year.

Now we’ve had a few weeks of fall,
and all of a sudden it’s gone.

It snowed today.
The wind howled and sleet came blew sideways
and for about an hour
the snow fell hard.

Where did fall go?
The seasons are moving on faster and faster
(how it it possible you have been gone 1.5 years, my dear daughter?)
leaving
Malou
behind.

But then I try to remember that
Malou
is all around me…

and think of the poem,

“…I am the thousands winds that blow,
I am the diamond glints on snow,
I am the sunlight on ripened grain,
I am the gentle autumn rain…”

Published in: on November 4, 2009 at 19:20  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wednesdayswithmalou.wordpress.com/2009/11/04/seasons/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. The seasons are rushing by, just a life does. There are beautiful things related to every season and Malou is our precious Spring baby reminding us of all the tiny, new, sweet beginnings of life. Our precious little angel now visits us in the wind. She let us know that on the day of her funeral. I too thought of her yesterday. Now we look forward to our new little boy in the new year, a Winter baby. How snuggly and warm he will be. 🙂
    Hugs


Leave a Reply

