Fireworks

Last year
on the 4th of July,
we buried
our daughter.

4th of July Burial

Putting Malou's urn in a protective box

Malou's Burial

Malou's Burial

Last glimpse (that was hard) 

We chose the 4th of July
as a little nod
to our girl’s
American heritage,
since we of course
don’t celebrate
the 4th of July
in Denmark.

But I would have with
Malou.

I wanted her to be equally
proud of being both
Danish and American.

But now, all I can do is hope
that when you see the
fireworks displays
you will think of my
sweet little girl.

Of her beauty,
and her love,
and her power,
and her spirit that lives on.

My darling girl, your daddy and I are far away from your grave right now, but you are right here next to us in our hearts. We take you everywhere we go. I wish you were here playing in the warm waters of Greece with us, splashing and laughing and being spoiled by your loving uncles and aunt. We miss you.

Published in: on July 4, 2009 at 09:00  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wednesdayswithmalou.wordpress.com/2009/07/04/fireworks/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Steph, I really hope that you and Tom are able to enjoy today and all that is amazing about it! Malou is always with you in your heart so go ahead and enjoy 🙂 As always you are amazing for how strong you are. Please know that this anniversary is also a celebration of your life, love and endurance.

  2. I definitely will be thinking of Malou today at the little fireworks display I will be seeing tonight. We don’t have the big celebration down at the Fort anymore. But I really don’t need any fireworks to remember my first sweet baby granddaughter. I think of her and you many times each day. But when I go to the cemetary today, I will put an extra flower on the graves of her cousin and great grandparents for all to share. Take care, and have many more days of fun in the sun.
    Love you…

  3. I just wanted to let you know that I thought about Malou yesterday. We didn’t go see any fireworks last night – partly because I didn’t want to go somewhere with a long line for a bathroom 🙂 and partly because I can clearly remember last 4th of July with Ada. We had JUST found out that she was a girl and it was such a happy day. Anyway, I did hear lots of fireworks going off yesterday and they reminded me of your Malou. I hope it was a good day for you guys.

  4. I did think of Malou on Saturday and you two, of course. We did not have fireworks here as you know but we did have our “Vejfest”. It was all in good spirit and boiling hot and the 3 new mums in our little vej were there with their babies. Malou and you were in my heart.
    Enjoy your holiday, all of you. We look forward to hearing about it all on your return.
    Hugs.


Leave a Reply

