8 days…

Today
is Tom’s birthday.

Last year
I had no idea
I was less than
a week away from going into labor.

Although interestingly enough,
I always thought
Malou
was meant to be either
a May or an August
baby.

July never seemed to fit her,
although her due date was July 24th.

That said,
I definitely didn’t feel
any type of intuition
that something was wrong.

Of course,
I had the normal nervousness
throughout the first trimester,
but I had a good feeling about her
right from the start.

I also felt she was a girl
right from the start.

When Tom and I first met
in Venezuela

(a fun story
involving me being stuck on a mountain,
taking a 21 hour bus journey,
changing my hotel plans at the last minute
based on the recommendation
of a fellow traveller,
and Tom stopping by
for 5 minutes at the hostel
at the exact moment I arrived to check in)

anyways,
when we met in Venezuela,
we spent the day together.

Tom was my unofficial tour guide,
since he had lived there before.

As we explored the city,
Tom told me his life story
(I was a bit more reserved,
believe it or not!).

And one thing he told me
was that he didn’t have any children,
although he always wanted to –
and that he especially wanted to have
a daughter.

And the first thought
to enter my mind was,

I want to give you a daughter.

Kind of a strange thought
to have about a near stranger,
especially as I was already
in a relationship.

Fast forward
3.5 years
and I gave him
his daughter.

Oh, how I wish
she were here now
to celebrate her daddy’s birthday.

Tom
is such an amazing person
&
wonderful husband,
but I have a feeling
that he will be
the best father ever.

There is no one else
I would want to be the father of my children,
wherever they may come from
or however they may get here.

Published in: on May 20, 2009 at 15:58  Comments (5)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wednesdayswithmalou.wordpress.com/2009/05/20/8-days/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I also feel that Tom IS one of the best fathers ever. The depths of his love for Malou have been so evident this past year. He is such a caring, compassionate, and kind person with so much love evident in all he does, that it is a given he will be a great dad as well to the future children you two have – no matter how they arrive.

    Happy Birthday Tom!

  2. Tom is such a wonderful father and you are such a wonderful mother. I hope and pray all the time that the two of you will get to continue to be such great loving parents to even more children. Hang in there sweet friend. I know this is such a hard time for you right now, I wish I had the right words to say, but I don’t. I don’t think there are even any right words. Just know that you are so loved. Thinking of you all the time and sending good thoughts to all your little eggs.

    Love, Keely
    Happy Birthday to Tom from me as well!

    PS. I’m glad Tom’s discovery of B&R ice cream was a small comfort, but how could they not have PB & Chocolate?! I agree that definitely is the best flavor 🙂

  3. Peanut butter is not a taste the Danes enjoy. Unfortunately! I love it, especially combined with chocolate.
    Black licorice, on the other hand, I can’t stand – but licorice-flavored ice cream, gum, candy, etc. are all easy to come by.

  4. I love the story of how you two met and also peanut better and chocolate – Reeces peanut butter cups! 🙂 Tom is a wonderful man and we feel priveliged to know him. He will be a fantastic dad – SOON.
    Hugs

  5. I hope it´s not to late but I want to wish Tom a happy birthday!


Leave a Reply

