Defrosting Malou’s Sibling

Tomorrow
we call the lab
to see how
our little embryo
is doing.

He (or maybe she)
is being defrosted
as we speak
(actually, I don’t know that for sure,
and it drives me crazy to not have
control over my baby –
can you tell I’m already overprotective?)

It’s a delicate process.

I am praying
(and just “hoping” in my more cynical moments)
that this one makes it.

It’s again a series of hurdles.

First, defrosting.

Second, transfer.

Third, implantation.

And so on.

The wait seems endless and, at times, tortuous.

I have half-convinced myself
that it won’t work,
just to ward off disappointment.

But like I’ve mentioned before
Hope
is quite tenacious
and I am actually feeling quite
positive.

Anyways,
if we get the news we want,
we will go to the hospital
around 11:00 am local time
for the transfer.

And then just cross our fingers
and wait (my favorite pasttime)
for 2 weeks.

If you are interested,
you can read more about FET
(and other fertility treatments)
by clicking HERE.

I will update this posting
with the results tomorrow.

Stay tuned…
🙂

UPDATE
The embryo lived!
S/he was 3 cells yesterday
and today is a healthy 5 cells!
S/he will be transferred back into me
where s/he belongs
today
(Thursday)
at 10.20 CPH time!

I started crying as soon as the lab tech told me the good news.
🙂

UPDATE 2
Then I gathered up my good luck charms
(a rosary from my grandma Madeleine
and another one from my great-grandma Mimi)
and waited impatiently for Tom to come home from work
and off we went to the hospital.

The transfer went smoothly
and we are feeling really hopeful.

I tried to convince Tom to take pictures
during the procedure
or at least the syringe containing the embryo
(am I the only one who thinks that would be interesting?)
but no go.

 I did manage to snap this shot
so you can see the lovely cement building
where all the magic is happening:

Tom on transfer day

and then Tom caved and took this photo of me:

Stephanie on transfer day

Published in: on April 29, 2009 at 19:35  Comments (9)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wednesdayswithmalou.wordpress.com/2009/04/29/defrosting-malous-sibling/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. great news. Would you believe I am reading this at 10.20 CPH time? 🙂 Now I pray for you all and cross my fingers and look forward to further good news.
    Hugs.

  2. Wooo Hooo! Sending you good thoughts!

  3. Yay!!! I am so excited for you! I think a picture of the syringe would have been totally appropriate – hah! I will be waiting anxiously with you for the next two weeks.

  4. I am pleased you are feeling hopeful. I think the pictures of you both are great. Yes the syringe would be an interesting thing for some (me included) but not for others. You have the sunny day with mum and dad in front of the “magic house” and that is important. Fingers crossed and lots of prayers.
    Hugs.

  5. That’s so good to hear Steph!! I am so happy for you that first few steps are going well. One “anxious/try to be patient” day at a time (are you tired of hearing this yet?!) 🙂 But my fingers are crossed and tons of good hopeful thoughts are being sent your way! Love you!

  6. Thanks, gals. So far, so good. I’m trying not to focus on it too much (you know, just “relax”) so we’ll see…

  7. Yahooo! Grow baby grow! I love the pictures of the proud parents. You are both glowing with happiness and the possiblity of a new family member. Major prayers your way.

    P.S. Wow, Tom cut off his locks!

  8. YIPPEE!!! I’ll be sending prayers your way. So exciting! A syringe shot would have been pretty fun.

    P.S. I agree with Becky…Tom, I love the new look!

  9. Wonderful news, my friend!!!! Fingers crossed and all the best 🙂


Leave a Reply

