Ideas?

I’m looking for ideas
as to how to
celebrate
Malou’s
1st birthday

on May 28th.

If you have any ideas
please write a comment
or send me an email.

Thanks.

P.S.
Two more posts for this week follow.

The 1st post asks you to comment
about something
(I promise it’s easy, and I promise you don’t have to agonize about what to say – I know all the words come from your heart :))

and the 2nd post gives some info
for my pregnant friends!

Published in: on April 8, 2009 at 16:25  Comments (7)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wednesdayswithmalou.wordpress.com/2009/04/08/ideas/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is rather obvious, but you can go to her grave and take new flowers. Also, I think a birthday cake would be appropriate. Either just have it for you and your husband to share, or you could invite any close friends/family over to celebrate with you. I guess it depends on what you think you can handle. Sorry I’m not more creative!

  2. I think maybe it could be fun to ask your close friends to come and celebrate her life. You have such good friends and family that will support you at this time. I always like the idea of sending baloons into the sky but if that is not good for the environment, then find somewhere to plant a tree in her honor. Maybe in your own back yard. Or take a picnic to the water and feed the ducks and enjoy all the life that spring has to offer. Appreciate the new growth on trees, the baby birds, the smells of the blossoming flowers. Spring is such a happy and hopeful time and Malou brought you the greatest of happiness.
    I wish I was there to celebrate with you, but we can find something special to do in her honor when I come to visit in August.

    Love you so much…

  3. Thanks, Beth and Mom. Those are good ideas. I want to decorate her grave really nicely that day. I’ve also thought about balloons – maybe trying to find some environmentally friendly, quickly degradable ones, if they exist.

  4. I think we could celebrate with a picnic or b.b.q if weather is good and also wear something pink for “our little girl” Spring is so lovely with all the fresh and new colours – all the “new beginnings”. Balloons, of course. 🙂 Hugs-

  5. Hi, I just recently found your blog and became a follower. I am so sorry for your loss. Malou is such a precious angel.
    I hope you don’t mind my input…
    We celebrated our son’s first birthday by having a party for him at his grave. We invited family and close friends. We had a cake and people brought gifts and flowers to put on his grave. A few people wrote poems for him and read them. We sang happy birthday and everyone released a balloon with their own personal note attached. It was beautiful.

  6. Hi Tiffany,
    Of course I don’t mind your input! I appreciate it. That is a good idea. I was thinking of a bbq with friends and family and then walking to Malou’s grave…I like the balloon and note idea too.
    Thanks for sharing. I will look forward to reading more on your blog too.
    Stephanie

  7. Just checking in to say that decided to hold a small BBQ (Danish pølser and cupcakes) on the evening of Malou’s birthday, and will also go to her grave for a visit with everyone (and to decorate it with flowers and decorations).

    More ideas are still welcome.


Leave a Reply

