What should have been

We should have
had a grueling
10 hour flight
(+2 hours delayed)
15 hours of travel time
with a cute little 4-month old.

Instead
the two bassinet seats
on the plane
were filled with
other babies.

One looked about
3 months old.

The mother kept
walking around the plane
with the baby.

I was stretching near the bathroom
when they walked by once.

I turned my head
and tried to ignore
my thoughts.

And then the mother
started talking to me.

She was quite nice
and her baby was adorable.

But all I wanted to do was
tell her that
she stole my seat.

Published in: on November 26, 2008 at 17:55  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wednesdayswithmalou.wordpress.com/2008/11/26/what-should-have-been/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi Steph – I just wanted to say Happy Thanksgiving to you and to let you know I was thinking of you. I’m sure the holidays will be hard, but I hope the memories of last Thanksgiving with Malou will bring you some joy. My aunt Melinda always has a hard time around Thanksgiving, it was the las time they were all together as a family. And I know it is still hard for her even today, 7 years later, but I think she also takes comfort in those memories of them together as family as well. I hope you, Tom, and all your family have a lovely day tomorrow. Happy Thanksgiving. Love, Keely

  2. Hi to you in US and hope Thanksgiving was good for all of you. Pleased the trip was ok and you met the other new mum and baby. You will see so many when you are trying. This is “nature” Have a great trip, starting today. We look forward to the next month. Hugs.


Leave a Reply

